(closed) BUIP012: Vote Trevin Hofmann for President

Status
Not open for further replies.
About Me

Hello! I am a twenty-year-old software engineering student at the Milwaukee School of Engineering. Software engineering is much more than a career choice for me. I am passionate about open source software, applied cryptography, and Bitcoin. For more information regarding my short experience, please see my résumé at https://trevinhofmann.com/resume.pdf.

Bitcoin

I first discovered Bitcoin in early 2013 while news circulated of capital controls in Cyprus. From that point on, I have been diving into Bitcoin with excitement. After the summer of 2013, I moved to Milwaukee for my freshman year of college. During the first quarter, I was fortunate enough to begin working remotely with a young European Bitcoin company. From this opportunity, I learned more about the inner workings of Bitcoin while working on a mining pool, mobile multisignature wallet, and an escrow-based marketplace. Along with other hobby projects, I created an open source block chain explorer called MyChain. Although it was not the most beautifully designed, I was proud of its relatively efficient database indexing.

Bitcoin is the most fascinating application of cryptography that I have found so far. I am beyond optimistic about its ability to serve as a nearly perfect money for the modern economy.

Why Bitcoin Unlimited?

Bitcoin may be about to demonstrate its antifragility once again. Although the downfall of Mt. Gox was a large temporary setback for Bitcoin, the subsequent diversification of exchanges led to a much healthier ecosystem. Similarly, I think that Bitcoin benefits as users and miners diversify their full node implementations.