Request for Comment: BUIP 0-conf double-spend consensus secure

DrSammyD

Feb 7, 2018
I've written up a proposal on how to economically secure 0-conf double spends.

The short version is whenever a miner detects a double spend, the miner can choose which transaction to process, and which to use as a double spend proof, and consensus allows that miner to take the remaining balance of that wallet. This enables merchants to consider 1/2 wallet spends economically secure, and double spend attempts costly or unprofitable for an attacker.

This link dives deeper into how this protocol works

Thoughts?

Last edited:
Reactions: Bloomie

AdrianX

Aug 28, 2015
bitco.in
and which to use as a double spend proof, and consensus allows that miner to take the remaining balance of that wallet.
@HostFat I like the incentive to process the earlier transaction and profit from the latter. I'm not technical but as I understand bitcoin this cant work.

My understanding is when you send a transaction. It consists of an unspent output and a new transaction input. The difference between those two is unclaimed and becomes the transaction fee. Only signed transactions can be written to the blockchain and so you cant claim the fee from a double spend.

eg 1 BTC (unspent) - spend 0.5 BTC new input, - chain 0.49 BTC new input - 0.01 is left to be claimed by the miner who writes that transaction to the blockchain.

When the transaction is confirmed in a block, the inputs become available outputs. Each signed transaction is unique the miner cant combine bits of one and not the other. ( segwit is another story as a soft fork it uses anyone can spend transactions as a base.)

Last edited:

DrSammyD

Feb 7, 2018