How to get involved?

marcus

Mar 3, 2017
Hi everyone. My name is Marcus and I am interested in contributing to BU as a developer. My background is primarily as a backend/db programmer. I have relevant experience working with C/C++, various scripting languages and *nix platforms.

Can anyone advise on where/how best to get started?

Thanks in advance.

freetrader

Staff member
Dec 16, 2015
Welcome Marcus!

Always nice to see devs interested in joining to contribute.
Most of the action happens on the GitHub repos at https://github.com/BitcoinUnlimited .

Have you done the building-from-scratch for a Bitcoin client before, or developed on one?

I can point you to some more resources, but it would be helpful to know a little about your degree of familiarity with Bitcoin's code and design.

If you prefer private discussion, this forum also has a Chat function where you can chat to some members individually or as a group.

Last edited:

marcus

Mar 3, 2017
My background:

15+ year developer, originally C/C++. I am cloning the BU repo now and plan to try and compile it the first time soon. I am running a full BU node on a mac. I also have an ubuntu machine I may use for development.

Bitcoin - I read the white paper. :p It was very early. I have an undergraduate degree in computer science and my minor was Economics. I have been a free market advocate since the mid-90's when I started college. I had the honor of learning Economics from (among others) Dr. Walter Block, who is a Senior Fellow at the Mises Institute and I have made a somewhat personal study of Economics in our society for the last 20 years in the spirit of the Austrians.

I have played with the client more in recent years. I've set up a testnet. Could intereact with it and create / see transactions, mine, generally configure the client and network, etc. That was maybe a year ago.

I have had a miner running in AWS just to see if I could. Again, maybe about a year ago.