BUIP158: Funding for SysAdmin/Developer

sickpig

Aug 28, 2015
BUIP 158: Funding for SysAdmin/Developer
Proposer: @sickpig
Submitted on: 2020-11-30

Summary

I lost my independent funding in November of this year, regardless I would like to continue working on the Bitcoin Unlimited projects as a full-time developer and devops, as I have been doing since 2015.

From mid-2015 till the end of 2016 I worked on the project in my free time, luckily enough, later on, I got an offer to have my full-time work for Bitcoin Unlimited funded and this is what I did and I'm still doing so far.

Budget

This BUIP authorises 84,000 EUR a year (paid monthly in crypto) to continue this work.

Major Contributions to this project:

other than the day-to-day tasks of reviewing pull requests from others, fixing bugs, and implementing minor enhancements, the following are the main contributions I made to the BCH Unlimited client and more, in general, to other Bitcoin Unlimited projects:

- Testing Xthinblocks crossing over the great firewall of China
- Lead the testing operation of Gigablock Network Initiative that stem from the scaling bitcoin 2017 presentation slides and video
- Porting BTC address seeder over to Bitcoin Cash, see: https://github.com/sickpig/bitcoin-seeder
- Porting bitnodes crawler over to Bitcoin Cash
- Ported and currently maintaining a javascript based block explorer for Bitcoin Cash
- Develop and maintain a web front end to expose the data gathered by the BCH nodes crawler
- Maintaining and coordinate the development of the main BU website
- Operate a bunch of public services for the BCH community (**):
* explorer.bitcoinunlimited.info (mainnet BCH explorer)
* texplorer.bitcoinunlimited.info (testnet3 explorer)
* Mainnet electrum server: electrs.bitcoinunlimited.info s50002
* casnodes.io (web front end and nodes crawler for BCH mainnet)
* btccash-seeder.bitcoinunlimited.info (node seeder for the BCH mainnet)