BUIP028: (closed) Candidacy for Secretary role - digitsu

digitsu

Jan 5, 2016
Hi fellow members,

I know that my userid here may indicate that I'm a 'new member' but I've been in crypto since I bought my first bitcoins in 2013. I have largely been a holder and steered clear from getting involved in the community until the XT project split off in early 2015. It was then that I felt that market pressures have worked to centralize the Bitcoin development roadmap and that the Bitcoin that I believed in might not achieve its full potential without everyday folks like us with a day-job taking more of an active role in the community.

My background is engineering, and have worked most of my professional career in financial technology in Wall Street banks. Not unlike Bitcoin, the software that financial institutions run on their trading floors are responsible for moving billions of dollars of risk a day, and you can imagine it can be a pretty high stress environment, but tends to hone one's critical thinking. I am very thankful for the lessons I learned while working "in the system".

I got interested in Bitcoin thanks to its economic implications, and its potential to revolutionize what is the conventional thinking in monetary theory. I maintain a blog that talks mostly on these topics at http://WallStreetTechnologist.com

I was one of the earlier members (#41) though I haven't spent much time in the forums as much, spending more time on slack channels (Classic and BU) and twitter (@digitsu) instead. I am an organizer for the http://OnChainScaling.com virtual conferences, and I look forward to being able to contribute more to the community on an interactive basis.