Anybody need traffic shaping?

theZerg

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 28, 2015
1,012
2,327
Here the receive allows bursting at 1 packet above 100k per second, average 30k per second:

xt_traffic_shaping.png
 
  • Like
Reactions: ladoga and bitsko

theZerg

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 28, 2015
1,012
2,327
dynamic shaping from the console:

settrafficshaping send|receive <burst> <average>

Started at 3KB/s receive, 2 send, with 2x bursts. Then moved receive up to 10KB/s, then popped send to 10KB/s (oops, briefly) and then down to 6.

No more issues with the node fighting for bandwidth with netflix!trafficshaping.png
 
  • Like
Reactions: ladoga and bitsko

theZerg

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 28, 2015
1,012
2,327
Results of overnight run throttled at < 53KB download and 33 KB upload -- that is, the speed of a analog modem circa 1995: fully synchronized with 29 connections

People, I think we can safely increase the bitcoin txn capacity without impacting # of full nodes...

modem.png
 

cypherdoc

Well-Known Member
Aug 26, 2015
5,257
12,994
the debug window is displaying kB/sec. how does that translate to tx's/sec?
 

theZerg

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 28, 2015
1,012
2,327
You can't really tell the tx/sec from this graph. Its whatever the bitcoin activity was at about 6AM pacific this morning. This is the actual bandwidth being used by a bitcoin node. So, for example, it is relaying txns and accepting and forwarding new blocks. The point is that it is supporting connections to 29 other nodes, which is plenty. I'm sure we could double the capacity and then cnxns might drop in half -- 15 connections would STILL be a fine number for the average node on P2P network -- and STILL be using the dial-up bandwidth.

With this patch, you can run a full node on your home broadband without disturbing your browsing, Netflix, video calls, etc. With modern broadband, you could raise the bitcoin bandwidth much higher and still not affect your normal internet use.
 

cypherdoc

Well-Known Member
Aug 26, 2015
5,257
12,994
yeah, alot of ppl do this thru their routers or QoS.
 

theZerg

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 28, 2015
1,012
2,327
yes, but this makes it really easy (but actually not as good as thru a router... the router can react to load)
 

theZerg

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 28, 2015
1,012
2,327
I'm not sure. You can set it using command line args: bitcoind -receiveavg=300 -receiveburst=600 -sendavg=200 -sendburst=400

numbers are in kilobytes/sec