Problems with the Articles of Federation

go1111111

I am a big supporter of the view of emergent consensus expressed by BU supporters Justus Ranvier and Zanglebert Bingledack (ForkiusMaximus on reddit). Unfortunately, I think the Articles of Federation is too strict regarding the definition of block validity. I also believe that BU's governance model is unnecessarily bureaucratic and democratic.

The validity problem

Regarding block validity: imagine that as a software developer, I decided to modify the BU full node software that I run. I add an additional parameter: the block size at which I would leave the network represented by the longest proof of work chain rather than join it. Basically, I never accept blocks above this limit no matter how deep they are. If blocks are above this level I assume something is seriously wrong and that I don't want to partake in the new network. Because I agree with the Articles of Federation I set this limit much higher than the limit used to designate which blocks are only accepted after N confirmations. Suppose my parameters are such that I accept any blocks up to 8 MB immediately, I accept any blocks up to 32 MB after 4 confirmations, but I never accept blocks above 128 MB regardless of how many confirmations they have. As technology improves, I'll manually adjust these numbers of course.