Integrating Xtreme Thinblocks and Xpress Validation in Bitcoin Classic

rustyloy

Jan 28, 2016
First off, let me thank the Bitcoin Unlimited team for the amazing work done so far. I'm a really big fan of Xtreme Thinblocks and I hope we can work together to get this feature merged into Classic. I'm really excited to have the opportunity to help in this process anyway that I can.

I've reach a somewhat stable point in merging the code into the Classic development branch, so I have opened a work in progress PR # 147. The code should compile, pass all tests, and exchange thin block information with unlimited clients (though locally I have to revert back to an older style of xthinblocks to be compatible with Unlimited release 12). Next week my major focus will be to comb through the code and find the mistakes that I made during the merge.

I'm new to the bitcoin development scene, so I apologize in advance if I am slow. Please let me know if there is anything I am doing wrong, or anything I could do better.

Thanks again, I am looking forward to working with everyone!

Last edited:

cypherdoc

Aug 26, 2015
Thanks for joining us here @rustyloy and thanks for your tireless work on Classic. Great to hear you're integrating this. It's incredibly important to try and convince miners to try and re-decentralize their block propagation through the p2p network:if that's possible. I think it is.

Classic and BU ultimately have the same values and foresee a similar future so it's great to see the collaboration.

Reactions: 8up

solex

Staff member
Aug 22, 2015
@rustyloy
Nice work. Once the Classic nodes have this, it will be a powerful demonstration to Core users that they are being deliberately disadvantaged by their devs.